Home » Writing » Blogging » Blogging and Writing 202 – Idea Generation

Blogging and Writing 202 – Idea Generation


I guess one of the most basic questions for bloggers is, “How do you decide what to write about?”  While it may be one of the first questions asked, I think it is one of the later questions to be answered. I wrote for years before I truly found what it was I wanted to consistently write about.

Let me explain.

I am not saying that bloggers don’t start out with an idea of what they want to say. Of course they do, or they wouldn’t blog. What I am saying is that for some of us, it takes time and just writing for a while to find the themes that really resonate with others, that seem to flow out of us most effortlessly – or are at least the effort!

I began blogging 7 years ago about stories of what was happening in my life. Along the way, I found that incorporating the spiritual themes I was learning was what really popped out of my writing. Then, as I began to focus more specifically on the actual places in my heart and life where Jesus showed up consistently and powerfully, my writing jumped a level. So did my readership. So did my passion for writing.

I didn’t start out writing like I do now. It took the practice of consistently writing for years, of consciously evaluating what worked and didn’t, of examining what rang my writer’s bell. It has taken time. I also ask for feedback from those whose opinions matter to me.

So, back to the question of how to decide what to write about…my advice is to begin with what is on your heart, whatever that is. I think the greatest sin in writing isn’t in writing badly, but in not writing at all. Then, write consistently, whatever that looks like for you. For me it is at least once a week, and usually at least twice, centered around whatever series’ I am working through at the time. (Again, this rhythm has emerged over the years. I didn’t start out at this pace. It is just what works for me now and is subject to change.) Then, evaluate where your writing seems to come to life, where it seems to move or connect with other people. And then, be willing to be open – to change, adjust and grow.

Now that I know what I really, really want to write about, idea generation isn’t the problem. Idea retention is. (See previous post in this series.) As I go through my life, blog entries along my heart themes seem to emerge naturally in the everyday. My job isn’t really to generate ideas, but to capture the ones that show themselves throughout my normal activities. Then to hone them into a useable form. 

And I generally try to live an idea generating life anyway. I read stimulating books and other blogs. I engage others in honest, deep conversation. This allows me to hear another’s heart and practice articulating mine. I move my body to sensory-stimulating environments – beautiful places, people-watching venues, etc. I walk, run or swim often – these are perhaps some of the greatest idea generators in my life’s rhythms – and I think almost everyone ought to walk or exercise more:) I regularly practice solitude and quiet, giving myself time and space to hear the ideas percolating from within.

Here’s the bullet point summary:

1. Practice writing about whatever – and see what happens. What you love to write about and what you write well about will eventually rise to the surface. 

2. Live an idea generating life – one that is outwardly oriented and inwardly nourishing. This will look different for each person. Then, keep post-it notes handy.

3. Pay attention – to what works, what resonates, what stinks and what you enjoy. Regular self-evaluation is a strong tool of improvement. 

2 thoughts on “Blogging and Writing 202 – Idea Generation

Leave a Reply

